TABLE OF CONTENTS



About the migration

If you have an existing account on one of the previous versions of Portfoliobox and you are thinking about switching to Portfoliobox 4, we can migrate some of your content to the latest Portfoliobox version 4. Please note, that due to drastic changes in the interface, we cannot migrate the layout, pages or text content, i.e. you will have to rebuild the site from scratch. Migration to Portfoliobox 4 allows moving:

  • Your domain name.
  • Your subscription.
  • Some of your images.


What will happen to your existing account? Is it going to be deleted?

Your old account will be fully accessible while you're discovering the new version and until you publish the new website. Once your new website is ready, you will be able to hit the Publish button to publish your work — this action will delete the old account, and move your domain to the new version finalizing the migration.


Deletion of the old account is required since we convert all account and subscription data to a new version.


Can I cancel the migration?

If you want to cancel the migration, you can delete the new account and keep your current account. All the content will be in place.


What's the price?

Pro subscription in Portfoliobox 4 costs US$94.8 per year which is a bit more compared to previous version. Don't worry, you don't have to pay anything to migrate and the new pricing will apply beginning from the next subscription year. You can check our pricing page to learn more about available plans and their cost.


How to begin the migration?

Kindly reach our support team via live chat or email support@portfoliobox.net, provide your registered email address, domain name and ask to migrate your account. Our support team will migrate your account as soon as possible.


How long does it take?

The migration can take up to 24 hours. You will receive an email as soon as your images get migrated.



Before you publish your new site


Think about your page titles & URLs

If you want to keep the exact same structure on your new website, it is important that the pages you create on your new site have the exact same titles and URLs than on your current website. This will prevent pages already indexed in search engines to redirect to a broken page, when your new site is published. 

Learn how to edit your page url in Portfoliobox 4



Custom domain name 

Migration from Portfoliobox 2

If you have a website on Portfoliobox 2 and own your domain name, you will need to edit the configuration of your domain name for it to work with Portfoliobox 4.

Go to your domain provider and edit the existing CNAME record that points to world.portfolioboxdns.com so that it points to home.portfolioboxdns.com. If you need help with the configuration, please contact our support team.



Migration from Portfoliobox 3

If you have a website on Portfoliobox 3 and own your domain name, you will not need to change its configuration. 



Publish your new site 

When you have completed your new website, you will need to click on Publish in your Portfoliobox 4 admin panel. You will be asked to enter your bank card information first. You will need to click See Live to confirm.This will trigger a few things: 

  • your domain name will be routed to your new website
  • your new website will be live
  • your old website will be deleted
  • your subscription will be migrated to your new account



After the migration

You will need to add your Google Analytics code again

Since your site on Portfoliobox 4 is a completely new website, you will need to add the Google Analytics code to your new site after you published it. Your account in the old version will be deleted after the migration is finalized that's why it is important to add the code again to maintain the connection between Google Analytics and your website. 




--
For any additional questions please feel free to contact our support team via live chat or email support@portfoliobox.net.